CMPSCI 745: Advanced Database Systems

Course Schedule (subject to change)

week date day topic readings notes presentation
project
Week 1
Sep 3 Tue Course introduction
[notes]
Sep 5 Thu Data warehousing(1) [CD97] [GCB+97] [notes]
Week 2
Sep 10 Tue Data warehousing(2) [OQ97]
Sep 12 Thu Data warehousing(3) [ZDN97]
Week 3
Sep 17 Tue No class
Sep 19 Thu Data mining(1) [AS94] [notes]
Week 4
Sep 24 Tue Data mining(2) [ZRL96]
Sep 26 Thu Views(1) [Hal01] [notes]
Week 5
Oct 1 Tue Views(2) [KR99]
Oct 3 Thu Column Stores(1) [SAB+05] [notes] written proposal
Week 6
Oct 8 Tue Project Development
Oct 10 Thu Column Stores(2) [AMMH07]
Week 7
Oct 15 Tue Monday schedule
Oct 17 Thu Sequence DB [SLR96] [notes]
Week 8
Oct 22 Tue Temporal DB [BGJ] [notes]
Oct 24 Thu Data Streams [ABW06] [notes]
Week 9
Oct 29 Tue Continuous queries [HCH+99] [notes] literature survey
Oct 31 Thu Parallel DB(1) [DGS+90]
Week 10
Nov 5 Tue Parallel DB(2) [Gra90] [notes]
Nov 7 Thu Big Data: Map Reduce [DG04] [notes]
Week 11
Nov 12 Tue Big Data: Big Table [CDG+06]
Nov 14 Thu Midterm
Week 12
Nov 19 Tue status report
Nov 21 Thu
Week 13
Nov 26 Tue
Nov 28 Thu Thanksgiving
Week 14
Dec 3 Tue
Dec 5 Thu Project Presentation
Week 15
Dec 10 Tue final report
Dec 12 Thu

Last day to add or drop any class with no record is September 16. Last day to drop with "DR" for graduate students is October 15.