CMPSCI 645: Database Design and Implementation

Schedule (subject to change)


week date day topic textbook slides homework
reproducibility
research
Week 1
Feb 2 Tue Overview & Relational Model
Ch 1
[pdf,pdf]
[video]
Feb 4 Thu Relational Algebra 1
Ch 4
[pdf]
[video]
Week 2
Feb 9 Tue Relational Algebra 2 & Calculus
Ch 4
[pdf]
[video]
Feb 11 Thu SQL Overview 1
Ch 5
[pdf]
[video]
Week 3
Feb 16 Tue SQL Overview 2
Ch 5
[pdf]
[video]
Feb 18 Thu Language and Normalization Theory
Ch 19
[pdf,pdf]
[video]
project selected
Week 4
Feb 23 Tue Normalization Theory 2
Ch 19
[pdf]
[video]
Feb 25 Thu Disks, Files
Ch 8,9
[pdf]
[video]
Week 5
Mar 2 Tue Files, Indexes
Ch 8,10
[pdf]
[video]
Mar 4 Thu Query Processing 1
Ch 13, 14
[pdf]
[video]
proposal
Week 6
Mar 9 Tue Query Processing 2
Ch 14
[pdf]
[video]
Mar 11 Thu Query Optimization 1
Ch 15
[pdf,pdf]
[video]
Week 7
Mar 16 Tue Query Optimization 2
Ch 15
[pdf]
[video]
Mar 18 Thu Concurrency Control 1
Ch 16
[pdf]
[video]
Week 8
Mar 23 Tue Concurrency Control 2 & Recovery 1
Ch 17,18
[pdf,pdf]
[video]
team formed
Mar 25 Thu Recovery 2
Ch 17,18
[pdf]
[video]
status report 1
Week 9
Mar 30 Tue Project: Advanced Data Analytics
[video]
Apr 1 Thu Midterm Review
[pdf]
[video]
Week 10
Apr 6 Tue Midterm Exam
Apr 8 Thu Data Warehousing & OLAP
Ch 25
[pdf]
[video]
review + proposal
Week 11
Apr 13 Tue Data Warehouses & Data Mining
Ch 25
[pdf,pdf]
[video]
Apr 15 Thu Data Mining & Parallel Databases Ch 25
[pdf,pdf]
[video]
Week 12
Apr 20 Tue No Class (Wed Schedule)
Apr 22 Thu MapReduce & Spark
[pdf,pdf]
[video]
status report 2
Week 13
Apr 27 Tue Spark & Project Presentations 1
[pdf]
[video]
presentation
Apr 29 Thu Project Presentations 2
presentation
Week 14
May 4 Tue Project Presentations 3
presentation
May 6 Thu
final report
final report
Week 15
May 11 Tue
May 13 Thu