CMPSCI 645: Database Design and Implementation

Schedule (subject to change)


week date day topic textbook slides homework
project
Week 1
Jan 20 Mon
Jan 22 Wed Overview & Relational Model
Ch 1
[pdf,pdf]
Week 2
Jan 27 Mon Relational Algebra and Calculus
Ch 4
[pdf]
Jan 29 Wed SQL Overview
Ch 5
[pdf]
Week 3
Feb 3 Mon
Feb 5 Wed Query Language Theory
[pdf]
Week 4
Feb 10 Mon Normalization Theory
Ch 19
[pdf]
Feb 12 Wed Disks and Files
Ch 9
[pdf]
Week 5
Feb 18 Tue Indexes
Ch 8,10
[pdf]
Feb 19 Wed Query Processing 1
Ch 13,14
[pdf]
Week 6
Feb 24 Mon Query Processing 2
Ch 14
[pdf]
Feb 26 Wed Query Processing 3
Ch 14
Week 7
Mar 2 Mon Query Optimization 1
Ch 15
Mar 4 Wed Query Optimization 2
Ch 15
Week 8
Mar 9 Mon Concurrency Control 1
Ch 16
Mar 11 Wed Concurrency Control & Recovery
Ch 17,18
groups formed
Week 9
Mar 16 Mon Spring Break
Mar 18 Wed
Week 10
Mar 23 Mon Midterm Review
Mar 25 Wed Midterm Exam
Week 11
Mar 30 Mon Project: Advanced Data Analytics
paper review
Apr 1 Wed Data Warehousing & OLAP
Week 12
Apr 6 Mon Data Mining
Apr 8 Wed Data Exploration & Explainability
Week 13
Apr 13 Mon Parallel Databases
Apr 15 Wed MapReduce Processing
status report
Week 14
Apr 20 Mon Patriot's Day
Apr 22 Wed Spark: Unified analytics
Week 15
April 27 Mon Project Presentations 1
presentation
April 29 Wed Project Presentations 2
presentation
Week 16
May 3 Mon
May 5 Wed
final report